Will Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski become world footballer again?


Share post:

FIFA will select the best on January 17th. The all-important question: Who will be world footballer? Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski has a good chance of winning the title for the second year in a row. But the Munich Torgarant has tough competition.

sport.de accompanies the ceremony on Monday evening 7 p.m. on the live blog.

+++ “The Best FIFA Football Awards” – What is it? +++

“The Best FIFA Football Awards” was launched by the world association FIFA in 2016 and has honored the best coaches and footballers in the world every year since then. However, the award is independent of the prestigious “Ballon d’Or” awarded by the French sports newspaper “France Football”. Robert Lewandowski will be reluctant to remember the election as he had to let PSG star Lionel Messi go first.

By the way: From 1991 to 2009, FIFA chose the best player in the world, “France Football” the best player in Europe. From 2007, however, the Ballon d’Or also went to non-Europeans, which also made it a world footballer’s title. The two elections were therefore merged between 2010 and 2015, and since 2016 there have been two separate awards again.

Unlike the Ballon d’Or, where only journalists vote, the FIFA World Player of the Year is voted for by fans, journalists, national coaches and national team captains.

+++ Robert Lewandowski again “FIFA World Player of the Year”? +++

Tonight’s winner can call himself “FIFA World Footballer of the Year”. In 2021, Robert Lewandowski was able to claim the coveted title for himself. This year he competes with Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain) and Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC).

A total of nine trophies will be awarded, based on performance from October 8, 2020 to August 7, 2021:

  • FIFA World Player: Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona), Sam Kerr (Chelsea FC) or Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
  • FIFA World Players: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Mo Salah (Liverpool) or Lionel Messi (PSG)
  • FIFA World Goalkeeper: Ann Katrin Berger (Chelsea), Christiane Endler (Lyon), Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbé (PSG)
  • FIFA World Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG), Édouard Mendy (Chelsea FC) or Manuel Neuer (Bayern)
  • FIFA World Coach Women: Lluís Cortés (FC Barcelona), Emma Hayes (FC Chelsea) or Sarina Wiegman (English national team)
  • FIFA Men’s World Coach: Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Robert Mancini (Italy), Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)
  • FIFA Puskas Prize (Best Goal): Luis Diaz (Colombia), Gauthier Hein (France), Erik Lamela (Argentina), Valentino Lazaro (Austria), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria), Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Ghana), Vangelis Pavlidis ( Greece), Danielas Sanchez (Mexico), Patrik Schick (Czech Republic), Mehdi Taremi (Iran), Caroline Weir (Scotland)

+++ The choice of the world footballer +++

From 7 p.m. in Zurich, FIFA will announce the new world footballer. In addition to Bundesliga star Robert Lewandowski, some German football greats can also hope for prizes.

Continue reading



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related articles

Under Erik ten Hag, Manchester United has two new defensive captains 💪

Lisandro Martinez Martinez was outstanding for United once more, playing fearlessly and aggressively in defense, motivating his teammates, and...

🔥Marcus Rashford is given a new task by Erik ten Hag for Manchester United.

Marcus Rashford, a graduate of the Manchester United academy, may already be categorized as an exceptional attacker, but...

❌One significant issue facing Manchester United is still not being addressed by Erik ten Hag.

The tactics of new manager Erik ten Hag appear to be finally finding favor with Manchester United. The Dutchman...

Predicted lineup for Manchester United’s Premier League match against West Ham

On Sunday in the Premier League, West Ham will visit Manchester United at Old Trafford. Cristiano Ronaldo, who scored...