US water polo players win seventh World Championship gold

The water polo Olympic champions from the USA have also confirmed their dominance at the World Championships in Hungary.

The Americans beat the hosts 9-7 (2-1, 2-2, 3-1, 2-3) in the final in Budapest and secured their seventh World Cup gold since 2003. Since 2014, the US Team won all titles in world water polo.

The Hungarians, cheered on by 7,000 spectators at the Alfred Hajos Swimming Stadium on Margaret Island, were also unable to end the winning streak – despite a comeback in the last quarter, which Madeline Musselman stopped with 49 seconds before the end with the ninth US goal.

The Netherlands secured bronze with a 7: 5 (1: 2, 1: 2, 2: 0, 3: 1) against Italy. The German women have not qualified for a World Cup tournament since 2009.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button