PDC announce field of participants for Premier League

Darts World Champion Peter Wright leads the field of eight participants in this year’s Premier League.

As the world association PDC announced on Monday, in addition to the Scot, the world number one Gerwyn Price, defending champion Jonny Clayton (both Wales), Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands), James Wade, Michael Smith, Joe Cullen (all England) and Gary Anderson (Scotland ) included.

The tournament series, endowed with one million pounds (around 1.2 million euros), in which the top four in the world and four other professionals selected by the PDC take part, begins on February 3rd.

After a total of 16 match days, the final playoffs will take place on May 26th in Newcastle (England). On February 24, Berlin will be the venue for the third time.

The 18th edition of the Premier League will be played in a new format. From this year, instead of ten, eight players will meet in a knockout system.

The winner of a match day receives five points, the losing finalist three points and the semi-finalists two points. A seeding list is created from the points gained. The top four professionals play for the title.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button